Skip to content

So Sento Ryu

So Sento Ryu Ju-Jutsu is an international style of Japanese martial art Jujutsu developed in the 90s in Italy by Antonio la Salandra. The style name is Japanese and literally translates as Total Battle style. The style uses a Japanese name to show respect to the Jujutsu's country of origin. Practitioners of the style can be recognized by the style logo on their jiu jitsu gi Black , color of infinity. (Kuro Gi), a yellow triangle with a trident inside and So Sento Ryu Kanji.

The style is based on physical strength, but one's own strength that everyone can develop, on speed, timing and "development of cognitive abilities".
Techniques in the style contain punches, kicks, throws, takedowns, joints, chokes, pins, falls, clinch combat, ground combat, and weapon techniques. The style also includes sparring and training against armed and unarmed opponents as an important part of the style. The style tries to maintain the principles of traditional Japanese martial art making it more compatible with Western culture.

The Style is divided into 3 macro areas:
1 ) Program:
the technical program from the white belt to the 6th dan. For the 7th - 8th - 9th 10th Dan there are no provost exams, but they are conferred by the Head Boy. The program also includes 20 style kata;
2 ) freestyle:
Free Combat Full Contact, strike, trow and ground combat.
3 ) R.A.P.I.D. TRAINING SYSTEM: RAPID methodology and street fighting;

Il sistema di graduazione del So Sento Ryu è basato sulla classificazione dei colori standard giapponese ed è composto da kyu (cinture colorate) e dan (cinture nere).
In addition to learning the required techniques, the assessment requires that the jujutsuka have spent a certain amount of time as the current belt rank, as well as taking part in a number of classes as the current belt rank. The evaluation also requires the jujutsuka to have participated in a number of national training camps, although in their case only the total amount of stakes is required, rather than the amount of stakes as a certain belt degree. There are four national camps each year.

The ranks include:

6th kyu, white, initial degree
5th kyu, yellow, no time, class or camp requirements, but learning the techniques generally takes 2-3 months.
4th kyu, orange, takes six months
3rd kyu, green, takes one year
2nd kyu, blue, takes one year
1st kyu, brown, takes one year

Dan ranks range from 1 to 10, and rank holders generally use a black belt, although at higher Dan ranks, red and black, red and white and red belts can be used. The holder of a black belt is generally known as a sensei. The higher Dan ranks may also have other titles such as shihan, hanshi, or kyoshi.

Even the 1st dan belt tests are very demanding and hard !!!
The black belt requires jujutsuka to have spent at least 2 years as a brown belt and at least six years in style in total and have some experience as a class instructor.

You cannot apply for a black belt test alone. Instead, their sensei should send a question to the head of the school if they think their pupil is ready for it.

The ceremony is very suggestive, it recalls the investiture of the ancient warriors.